top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrew Pledger

"My Pet Norman" Short Horror Story

Updated: May 3, 2018


I've had this horrifying secret for so long and I need to tell someone. People need to hear this before I die. I'll begin where it all started.

I remember when I was a child moving into this new house. Well, not exactly new with the old pink flowered wallpaper and the peculiar popcorn ceiling. To the ordinary eye, it was a regular suburban house built in the seventies, but there was something extraordinary hiding away inside.

The first day my family and I toured the house I mischievously hid from my parents. I heard them looking for me as I walked down the creaky wooden stairs that led to the darkly lit basement. When my foot hit the floor I felt a strange presence. I walked around struggling to find a switch. After I found the switch I looked around the room and the concrete walls were covered with black scratch marks. I follow the marks on the wall and I heard a menacing growl from under the staircase. I slowly walked to the middle of the room and I looked at the staircase. Emerging from the shadows was a two foot tall grey humanoid creature. It had big black eyes, a tiny nose and was probably around my age. A normal kid would have run off, but I was a strange kid. It stood there staring at me for many moments. I reached into my pocket to pull out a Snickers bar I snatched from the kitchen. I opened the chocolate and set it on the ground. The creature looked at the chocolate then looked up at me and started to cautiously walk towards the candy. Its slimy hand picked up a chocolate and shoved the entire bar down its throat. After it finished my dad walks down the stairs and the creature hid in a flash. My dad scolded me and took me back upstairs. As my family and I walked out the front door my dad shook hands with the real estate agent and took down the for sale sign.

We finally got settled in the new home after a month, but I couldn't find any signs of the creature I had found. One night when my parents were sound asleep I found a Snickers bar in a cabinet and I carefully entered the basement trying very hard to not let the stairs creak. I turned on the light and there was just silence. I opened the bar and set it on the cold basement floor. I waited a few seconds then the creature shuffled from under the staircase and snatched the treat. After many moments of munching sounds, the creature came out and started to circle me as if it were fascinated by my appearance. I knew I could never tell my parents about this discovery so I decided I would make him a home in my closet. I held the little thing by its slimy hand and carefully helped it up the steep basement stairs. I made him a birds nest of blankets in the closet and he seemed to like it. Before going to bed I took a peek at it sleeping in its cozy bed and I thought it was cute in a weird way. I slipped in my bed and laid there thinking of this discovery and I thought I should give it a name. It wasn't obvious what gender it was because its private wasn't visible so I decided to call it Norman.

As it became older I had a lot of fun playing ball, hide and seek, and hiding Norman from my parents. I had tried to feed him many things, but he would only eat chocolate.

When Norman became older we still played together, but he became a little withdrawn preferring his bed. I thought it was just growing pains. A few weeks later I went outside to mow the lawn and I was horrified at the sight at the bottom of the porch steps. A cat was sprawled out with its white fur covering the ground, its neck had been cracked and its stomach had been gutted. I thought at that moment that a wild animal had done it, but I was so wrong. A few weeks later I saw a newspaper article about all the pets that had been killed in my area. The article said that maybe a coyote from deep in the woods was the source of the killings.

Things got far more serious when kids started to go missing from the local school. The entire town was very paranoid because there were no clues. After a week a couple more kids went missing and the police found one clue at the scene a Snickers wrapper. When I read that in the article I was horrified and I could feel the hairs standing on the back of my neck. I ran straight to my laptop and I'm right here typing this story hoping that someone will believe this and stop this madness. I've kept this secret for so long and someone needs to know because I don't want this to die with me. I'm afraid to confront it or to even look in the closet. I am going to call the police before it kills me.


(Horror Short Film Coming Soon)

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page