top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrew Pledger

First DSLR Short Film

Updated: Feb 17, 2018

In 2017 I wanted to make films that had more meaning and weren't just a form of entertainment. I had become accustomed to just making entertaining shorts and I wasn't really sure how I would intertwine messages and entertainment in my films. I had always wanted to make a slasher horror short film and I'm fascinated with clowns so I combined them both. And that's where my first DLSR short film came to life. The cinematography for this short had to be spot on and it had to look as professional as possible. The location for the short was a very creepy forest with trees covered with lichen. Just being in these woods made me look over my shoulder. The mask that I made for the film was very unsettling and cheaply made.

The plot of the film is "A girl is looking for her lost dog and calls a friend to help her search the forest for her dog because she doesn't want to be alone. As she's waiting on her friend she hears her dog bark and enters the forest not knowing a masked killer is lurking."

For this film I wasn't sure how to incorporate a message. So I decided to just focus on making an interesting story and to try to make it look as cinematic as possible. I shot the film with my brother Stephen and friend Emily. We've been making films together for several years when I started filming shorts with my iPod. With only two actors to make a storyline is hard, but it exercises my creativity. (I shot this film with the Canon Rebel t5i)

Thank you for reading my first post and thanks to all the faithful viewers on YouTube and if you want to see my film check it out below and please subscribe to my channel for more films. In the next post I will talk about my first short film that has a meaningful message.


Creepy Clown - Horror Short Film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1fQqahXJU7E&t=70s




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page